Roger, Gill and I in the Phyllis Clark Peace Garden

Roger, Gill and I in the Phyllis Clark Peace Garden

Looking towards the Muffy Clark Gill Gallery

Looking towards the Muffy Clark Gill Gallery

Cutting the Ribbon for the Muffy Clark Gill Gallery dedication

Cutting the Ribbon for the Muffy Clark Gill Gallery dedication

Yesterday, the Board of Directors and the staff for the Shelter for Abused Women and Children of Collier County held a reception for me for the official naming ceremony of the Muffy Clark Gill Gallery.  When the new Shelter opened in 2002, I recruited my friends,Fran Mankiewicz, Jean-Marie Hendry-Friend, and my sister-in-law, Martha Gill(the original Martha Gill, as she puts it) to help me locate and hang artwork in the new building. This  process took several months, as we had to acquire artwork, and frame many of the pieces that were donated.  Roger Gregory of Gregory Frame Shop was very kind in assisting doing the framing and mounting of some of the pieces.  It was a challenge finding enough artwork for all of the rooms and interior spaces in the building.  I hung a large group of My Seminole Indian batiks in the widened hallway outside of the shelter’s library.  this became the basis of what was called for years”The Muffy Clark Gill Gallery” .  I had not been back in the building for over 4 years, and had not met Executive Director, Linda Oberhaus.  Cyndi Fields of the Shelter gave my family including my husband Gill, my brother Roger Clark, and my friends Kathy Ruch and Suzy Dorr the grand tour, including a viewing of the Phyllis Clark Peace Garden, which was named after my mother when the Shelter was opened.  My parents were the first large donors to the construction of the new building, and we were pleased to see how well the plants had grown in the courtyard.  A large purple ribbon was draped around the Batik that had been my Mother-in-Law Betty Gill’s painting”The Red Chair”.  I was given a pair of scissors to cut the ribbon after Linda read a small speech about my work with the Shelter, and how I had served on the Board and had been a past President.  I was then asked to give a quick talk about the paintings in the room.  When the ceremony was order, we went to the Machu Pichu Peruvian Restaurant and had a nice Cerviche dinner.  It was nice to be remembered!

