This vintage 1910 photographic image: “Sheriff Frank Tippen and Seminoles” was loaned to my by Pam Brown, whose family was one of the first residents of Immokalee, Florida. The photo was in the family album, and it’s imagery spoke to me: Three men smoking cigars while the three women patiently sat while their photo was snapped in a commercial photography studio. I loved the gesture of the men holding the cigars, and I am told that the women, as they were holding their arms in front of them were all pregnant. I scanned a copy of the photo into my computer, and adjusted the brightness, contrast, and color so that I could see the images more clearly, then the fun began. How shall I create this image in Batik? How large do I want to make it? What fabric did I want to use? Shall I do it in full color, or try to match the sepia tones of the photo? Do I want to make the painting so I can frame it, or should I hang it from a rod? These are some of the myriad questions I ask myself before I get started on the drawing for the painting.

Seminole Indians with Frank Tippen Circ 1910

Seminole Indians with Frank Tippen Circ 1910

