I am always happy to see “the season” (the three month period when the Naples Florida art and social world goes crazy) come and then go. I almost get nothing done in the way of artwork during that time.  I was pleased with my gallery exhibition at the ArtLab.  I did manage to create two pieces for the” Have A Seat III” event at the Friends of Art  Naples Museum of Art event.  I also was busy with displaying at the 25th Annual SW Florida Craft Guild’s Exhibit of Excellence at BIG Arts on Sanibel Island.  There I won a Merit award for one of my pieces from the February show: Hava Tampa Spirit.  The reception was well attended, but most of the time, I have been doing a lot of thinking.  After seeing one of my pieces hanging in my February show, I decided that I was not happy with the final format of the layout, and I felt that I wasn’t doing well in expressing my feelings for the images that I was working with.  After I had a critique with Barbara Hill, my art advisor,  I decided to take one of the pieces from the February show apart, and try to rework it into a more cohesive image.  This took a lot of weeping and gnashing of teeth, but I finally came up with a workable plan to create a Seminole style Kimono image that would hang on a banner.  I worked out this image by making little paper dolls of layouts, photographing them, and seeing how they looked together.  I have sent the fabric off to be re-sewn into the sleeves and shaping of what I want.  We’ll see where I go from here.

